RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS

Drivers License - New residents have 30 days after entering the state to obtain an Alabama Drivers License. If you have a valid out-of-state license, you will be required to take a written exam and eye test only. If you do not have a valid license, you will have to take a road test, as well.

Automobile Tags/Registration - Newcomers must transfer their title and obtain their Alabama automobile license plate within 30 days of establishing residency.

Education - To register a child in local public schools, the following is needed:

  • Proof of residence
  • Social Security Card of the child
  • An Alabama immunization certificate
  • An official birth certificate
  • A child must be 5 years old for kindergarten, or 6 years old for the first grade on or before September 1.



  • Take The Mobile PD Community Survey
  • Most Wanted - Local and National
  • Precincts - precincts information
  •  Forms - Download forms
  •  Sex offender Search
  • Crime Stoppers
  • Records and Reports
  •  Law Enforcement Torch Run Learn More