MPD News and Information

Mobile Police Department Law Enforcement Recognition Banquet

The Mobile Police Department salutes the officers and civilians who go above and beyond the call of duty to make Mobile the safest city in America. For their hard work and dedication, awards will be presented to these employees at the Annual Law Enforcement Recognition Banquet on May 12, 2016 at 6:30 p.m. The event will be held at the Mobile Marriott Hotel located at 3101 Airport Blvd.

The Exchange Club of Mobile sponsors the event. The master of ceremonies is Randy Patrick. And, this year's keynote speaker is Coach Joey Jones.

The following awards will be presented and employees honored for their notable accomplishments in 2015.

The Officer of the Year Award will be presented to Corporal Joshua Himes and the Civilian Employee of the Year Award will be presented to Heidi Robinson for their consistent outstanding service to the department and the City of Mobile in 2015.

The Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Captain Jack Dove and Captain Paul Prine for demonstrating a high degree of personal initiative and contributing to the achievement of the department's mission to significantly decrease crime using effective tactics and strategies.

Officers Zachary Jordan, Officer Christopher Main, Officer Alex Jones, Corporal Michael Schaffer and Officer Caleb Tillman demonstrated extraordinary heroism while engaged in personal combat with an armed adversary and will receive the Police Combat Cross Award.

The Meritorious Service Award will be presented to Officer Jeremy Burch and Officer Newman Brazier who rendered excellent performance of police duty while involved in grave personal danger.

Officers who demonstrated a highly creditable and unusual police accomplishment will receive the Excellent Police Duty Award. They are Officer Jimmy Byrd, Officer Joseph Law, Officer Justin Washam, Officer Bradley Hudson, Officer Frank Collier, Officer Dorothea George, Officer Eugene Evans, Officer Joshua Coleman, Officer Anthony Pate, Officer Jarod Gee, Officer George Tolbert, Officer Andre King, Officer Joseph Hughes, Officer Joshua Jones, Corporal Michael Ellzey, Corporal Allison Garafola, Sergeant Mac Russell Hardeman, Sergeant Matthew James, Sergeant Tina Zanca, Officer Rusty Hodskins and Officer David McCullough.

The Life Saving Award will be presented to Corporal Joshua Himes and Officer Micah Jones for taking the necessary action to prevent the possible death of a person.

Receiving the Chief's Commendation Award for acting in an outstanding manner while serving are Lieutenant Jonathan Lee, Officer Micah Jones, Officer Ivan Norfus, Officer Tyler Brannan, Officer Joshua Evans, Officer Shaun Hall, Officer Jeremy Burch, Officer Bryan Johnson, Sergeant Joe Cotner, Sergeant Jeffrey Hilburn, Sergeant Louis Screws, Sergeant Matthew James, Corporal Adam Austin, Corporal Lane Whittington, Corporal Joseph Goff, Corporal Michael Ellzey, Officer Cecil Thornton, Officer Trey Powell, Lieutenant Carla Shumock, Officer Donald Wallace, Officer Willie Demings and Corporal Michael Cook.

The Chief's Unit Award will be presented to the following units in recognition of their performance for outstanding police services.

Criminal Investigations Section, Robbery Unit: Lieutenant David Evans, Sergeant Jeffrey Hilburn, Coporal David McMeans, Corporal John Walstad, Corporal Adam Austin, Officer Damien Colvin, Officer Vincent Gazzier and Officer Cecil Thornton

Community Services Section, Asset Forfeiture Unit: Sergeant Lori Alford, Corporal Jason Fraley, Officer Walter Bradley and Code Officer Terrell Washington

Special Investigation Section, MCSENT Unit: Lieutenant Karl Reed, Sergeant Larry Toland, Corporal Pat Sanders, Officer Tilford Saunders, Officer Aaron Tucker and Officer Clarance Adams

Intelligence Section, Tactical Intelligence Unit: Commander Daryl Huff, Lieutenant James Cunningham, Sergeant Lee Laffitte, Sergeant Sean Fisher, Corporal Eddie Blakely, Corporal Richard Curd, Corporal Jeff Corley, Corporal Michael Cook and Corporal Chris Reed

Special Investigation Section, Narcotics and Vice Unit: Lieutenant Jonathan Lee, Sergeant Jerry Ripple, Sergeant Stanley Ladnier, Corporal Pat McKean, Corporal Jimmy Bailey, Corporal Adam Partridge, Corporal Chris Giattina, Officer Kevin Naman, Officer Julian Nettles, Officer Jamal Pettway, Officer Brian Smith, Officer Kenyada Taylor, Officer Nicholas Vegliacich and Officer William Byrd

Field Operations Division, Precinct 3 Crime Detail: Sergeant Michael Barber, Officer Casey Fields, Officer Kevin Kelley, Officer Curtis Renfroe, Officer Jeffery Armstrong, Officer Derek Kelley

Field Operations Division, Precinct 4 General Investigations Detail: Officer Dennis Owens, Officer Edward Crawford, Officer Mona Wade, Officer Ben Towarnyckyj and Officer Kodi Johnson

The Outstanding Civilian Service Award will be presented to the civilian employees who demonstrated a highly credible accomplishment. They are Tonya Hopkins, chief records clerk; Jade Davis, secretary; Shamekia Perryman, records specialist; Veronica Williams, records specialist; Kim Zirlott, office assistant; Laurina Parker, surveillance system monitor; Mildred Carson, office assistant; Jacquelyn Howze, office assistant; Kathy Battiste, records supervisor; and Laura Angle, grants administrator.

# # #

Charlette Solis
Mobile Police Department
Public Affairs Officer

For inquiries contact MPD Public Affairs Office

Contact Phone #: 251-208-1918 Contact Email:

Back To News